Wandering Wild Jessica Taylor
 
Paperback
9781510726574
$9.99
"I believe in possibility. Of magic, of omens, of compasses, of love. Some of it's a little bit true."

Sixteen-year-old Tal is a Wanderer—a grifter whose life is built around the sound of wheels on the road, the customs of her camp, and the artful scams that keep her fed. With her brother, Wen, by her side, it's the only life she's ever known. It's the only one she's ever needed.

Then in a sleepy Southern town, the queen of cons picks the wrong mark when she meets Spencer Sway—the clean-cut Socially Secured boy who ends up hustling her instead of the other way around. For the first time, she sees a reason to stay. As her obligations to the camp begin to feel like a prison sentence, the pull to leave tradition behind has never been so strong.

But the Wanderers live by signs, and all the signs all say that Tal and Spencer will end only in heartache and disaster. Is a chance at freedom worth almost certain destruction?

Perfect for fans of Nova Ren Suma and Sarah Dessen, Wandering Wild introduces a stunning new YA voice, weaving magical realism and romance into a story of struggle and self-discovery.
TitleWandering Wild
AuthorJessica Taylor
PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
ImprintSky Pony Press
Published5 September 2017
FormatPaperback
ISBN-139781510726574
Pages368
Dimensions5.50 x 8.25in.

About the author

Jessica Taylor adores sleepy Southern settings, unrequited love, and characters who sneak out late at night. After graduating from law school, she realized she'd rather write her own stories than read dusty law books. She lives in Roseville, California with a sweet-yet-spoiled dog and several teetering towers of books.

Visit her online at www.jessicataylorwrites.com or follow her on Twitter @JessicaTaylorYA.

"A moving portrayal of young love, family, and hope, a combination that steals your heart on every page." —John Corey Whaley, Michael L. Printz Award winner and National Book Award finalist

"Jessica Taylor's prose is exquisite, her characters authentic, and her plot imaginative. Tal is brave, flawed, and clever—a YA heroine who won't soon be forgotten!" —Julie Murphy, New York Times bestselling author of Side Effects May Vary and Dumplin'

"Wandering Wild is a beautiful, tempestuous read, filled with struggle and discovery. Descriptions of the open road, and of the thrill of striking off to someplace new will make you want to wander, even as you come to see that even the freest person can still be trapped. By the end, you'll embrace your own wild impulses." —Kendare Blake, author of Anna Dressed in Blood and Antigoddess

"Full of thieves and vagabonds, authentic romance, and a hint of magical realism, Wandering Wild is as compelling as the call of the open road." —Katherine Longshore, author of Gilt

* "Taylor’s story about a teenage girl and her complicated life is a stunning debut in the world of young adult novels. . . . This story is told in a first-person female point of view with a voice that is honest and real. The raw emotion of the protagonist will immediately draw readers into Talia’s plight. The setting of the story is unique and fascinating. . . . [A] realistic coming-of-age story about love, family, and change that will appeal to readers who like stories with romance." --VOYA 5Q 4P (starred review)

“The unlikely romance at the core of the novel is charmingly realistic . . . The strength of this debut novel is in the tantalizing development of character and setting as the story unfolds and Tal seeks her path in life.” —Kirkus Reviews

“[T]hought provoking. Despite her life of grift, readers will root for Tal and her nascent moral compass. A very enjoyable debut featuring an appealing protagonist in unusual circumstances; add to coming-of-age collections.” —School Library Journal

"Taylor's debut novel is spiritedly paced, with tension increasing as Tal is pulled between her Wanderer identity and her romance with Spencer. Lively characters showcase the lore and traditions within the group, including the Spirit of the Falconer they believe protects them, as Tal is forced to make a decision that will affect all in her path." --Publishers Weekly
ISBNs: 9781510726574 978-1-5107-2657-4 Title: wandering wild category:YAF 
Back to top