dotwav By Mike A. Lancaster
 
Paperback
9781510726598
$9.99
“There’s something in that sound. Something bad. Something dangerous.”

Fifteen-year-old Ani Lee is a skilled hacker researching a strange .wav file that she’s downloaded when it behaves as no file ever should.

Joe Dyson is a seventeen-year-old American transplant recruited into a secret teen division of the British intelligence service who’s looking into the disappearance of a friend caught up in an underground music scene that might be more than it appears.

When Ani and Joe’s investigations intertwine, they discover that the .wav file and the music are linked—someone’s embedding the file into tracks to create a mind-controlled teen army.

But who’s behind it? And why? And how do you stop a sound?

An exhilarating sci-fi techno-thriller that blends music, mind control, and conspiracy perfect for fans of Little Brother, Brain Jack, and Proxy.
Titledotwav
AuthorBy Mike A. Lancaster
PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
ImprintSky Pony Press
Published19 September 2017
FormatPaperback
ISBN-139781510726598
Pages456
Dimensions5.50 x 8.25in.

About the author

Mike A. Lancaster’s love of science fiction was first forged at an early age by reading Gulliver’s Travels, The War of the Worlds, and Journey to the Center of the Earth, and watching Gerry Anderson shows, Doctor Who, Quatermass movies, and Star Trek. His previous novels, Human.4 and The Future We Left Behind, introduced a chilling techno-world where we only think we’re in control. He lives with his wife, children, and a menagerie of pets in Peterborough, England.

“A fast-paced science fiction action thriller combining spies, music, and hacking in a truly original plot.” –Lauren James, author of The Next Together and The Last Beginning

"With charismatic protagonists, sharply self-aware dialogue, and gut-wrenching detail—particularly in the visceral portrayal of X-Core’s adverse effects and Ani’s haunting recollections of her mother—this tale of ingenuity in the face of insatiable evil is a deeply infectious one." —Booklist

“Combining a love of science fiction with modern technology and some very original thinking, this novel takes a look at some of society’s preconceived notions from a slightly off-kilter view. . . . Though it takes its time, it never drags, parceling out plot details and worldbuilding in classic thriller fashion. This one’s a page-turner.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Believably written characters and a quick-moving plot distinguish this compelling thriller with an SF twist." —Publishers Weekly

“A fast-paced sci-fi thriller for the geek set.” —School Library Journal

Praise for Mike A. Lancaster's previous work:
A Booklist Top 10 YA SciFi/Fantasy 2013 Pick, The Future We Left Behind
A Booklist Top 10 YA SciFi/Fantasy 2012 Pick, Human.4
A YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, Human.4

* “Wringing his Stephen King-like premise for all it is worth . . . few plots race along with this kind of speed and purpose.” —Booklist, starred review of Human.4

* “Lancaster effortlessly incorporates into his whiz-bang plot big ideas . . . along the way borrowing from the sf masters.” —Booklist, starred review of The Future We Left Behind
ISBNs: 9781510726598 978-1-5107-2659-8 Title: dotwav category:YAF 
Back to top