Interlude A Novel By Chantele Sedgwick
 
Hardback
9781510715158
$16.99
ebook
9781510715172
$16.99
When Mia Cox finds out she can’t donate her kidney to save her younger sister’s life, she doesn’t hesitate to jump on a plane to New York, convinced she can talk their estranged birth mother, Carmen, into donating hers instead. She doesn’t know the city or how she’ll find Carmen when she gets there, but she has to try. If she doesn’t, Maddy’s going to die.

On the cross-country flight, Mia figures she’ll have more than enough time to make a plan for when she lands—where she’ll go, where she’ll sleep, what she’ll eat. But then she falls into an embarrassing conversation with the cute boy sitting next to her, and only after she insults him does she realize he’s the one and only Jaxton Scott, the troubled lead singer of a famous rock band she hates. While Mia is running toward what she hopes is a cure for her sister, Jax is running away from his rockstar life. As the hours pass, they get to know each other, and she finds herself opening up to him like she never has to anyone.

When Jax volunteers to help Mia on the rest of her journey, she’s hesitant to accept his offer. Under different circumstances, she would want to get to know him better, but how can she entertain this random crush on a real-life rockstar while Maddy lies in the hospital, her name one of many on a never-ending transplant list?

Though everything seems perfect while they’re in the air, once on the ground again, Mia’s lack of preparation catches up with her, and she receives grave news from home. Clinging to the shred of hope she has left, she accepts Jax’s help but makes it clear that her priority is finding Carmen and saving Maddy’s life. She will not, under any circumstances, stray from her mission no matter how cute, thoughtful, and sweet her new friend may be.
TitleInterlude
SubtitleA Novel
AuthorBy Chantele Sedgwick
PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
ImprintSky Pony Press
Published13 February 2018
FormatHardback
ISBN-139781510715158
Pages284
Dimensions5.50 x 8.25in.

About the author

Chantele Sedgwick is a young adult author, harpist, wife to one, and mom to four. She loves fairy tales, happy endings, Kit Kats, and (judging by her bookshelves) buying way too many books. She is also the author of Love, Lucas and Switching Gears. She lives in Roy, Utah, with her family and can usually be found reading or talking her husband’s ear off with her endless supply of book ideas.


“Mia's journey to save her sister threatened to break my heart, even as her relationship with Jax sought to mend it. Have a box of tissues ready. You won't want to miss this moving story of love and sacrifice.” —Kate Watson, author of Seeking Mansfield and Shoot the Moon

"A heartfelt novel about the depth of a sister's love, the weight of choices, and the people who come into our lives and leave us forever changed." —Katie A. Nelson, author of The Duke of Bannerman Prep

"A beautifully crafted tale of love, loss, and loyalty. Mia's feisty determination will quickly win over hearts, while the fast pace and surprise ending will keep readers turning the pages. Interlude is a pitch-perfect YA novel that will appeal to fans of John Green and Abbi Glines." —Olivia Rivers, author of Tone Deaf

“Take one girl who will do anything to save her sick sister, add one rockstar on the run from his troubles, and one stormy family history, and you have Chantele Sedgwick’s Interlude. Sweet, heartfelt, and full of music, it perfectly mixes family drama with a burgeoning romance and hits every note.” —Rebecca Christiansen, author of Maybe in Paris

"Throughout this complex adventure that starts off as a rescue and results in self-discovery, Mia must learn to trust in herself, her family, and new friends. Though the overlying theme of the story is relatively heavy, readers can connect through Mia’s light-hearted narrative voice and relate to the tumbling emotions that the she feels throughout her journey. VERDICT This book, fitting into the same niche as John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places, will be a must-read for those fans."—School Library Journal

“Swift, dialogue-driving pacing keeps pages turning . . . An emotionally satisfying read." —Kirkus Reviews
ISBNs: 9781510715158 978-1-5107-1515-8 Title: interlude category:YAF ISBNs: 9781510715172 978-1-5107-1517-2 Title: interlude category:YAF 
Back to top