The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy By Marie Jaskulka
 
Hardback
9781632204264
$16.99
ebook
9781634500043
$16.99
If I let you read mine, will you let me read yours?

Forgotten Girl, a fifteen-year-old poet, is going through the most difficult time of her life—the breakup of her parents, and her mom’s resulting depression—when she meets Random Boy, a hot guy who, like her, feels like an outcast and secretly writes poetry to deal with everything going on in his life.

In The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy, the couple’s poems come together to tell their unique love story. The two nameless teenagers come from opposite sides of the tracks, yet they find understanding in each other when they lay bare their life stories through the poetry they write and share with each other.

Through verse, they document the power of first kisses, the joy of finally having someone on their side, the devastation of jealousy, and the heartbreaking sadness of what each of them is simultaneously dealing with at home and hiding from the world. Finally they have someone to tell and somewhere to tell it in their marble notebook.

This is the powerful story of two imperfect teens in first love who find solace in poetry.

Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers—picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
TitleThe Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy
AuthorBy Marie Jaskulka
PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
ImprintSky Pony Press
Published7 April 2015
FormatHardback
ISBN-139781632204264
Pages272
Dimensions5.50 x 8.25in.

About the author

Marie Jaskulka taught English and honed her fiction through educational writing. She holds a BA in English from Saint Joseph’s University and an MFA in creative writing from the University of Alaska–Fairbanks. Jaskulka began writing in utero (or so it seems) and used to lie to her parents, telling them she had a ton of homework to do, so they would allow her to write instead of making her go outside to play. She resides in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.

"Told with such complete believability . . . Jaskulka's narrative explores the hows and whys of an abusive teenage relationship with heartbreaking honesty, and her delicate touch renders the dark story even more powerful. Graceful. Searing. Haunting." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Realistic, gripping, worrisome yet hopeful. VERDICT: Give this to fans of Sonya Sones and Ellen Hopkins." —School Library Journal

"Forgotten Girl is a sophomore whose parents argue, scream, and slam doors. Looking out her bedroom window for salvation and fresh air, she sees Random Boy passing by—and soon her life enters a new downward spiral. In this twinned novel in verse, Jaskulka distinguishes the narratives by italicizing Random Boy’s notebook entries. The author’s terse poetic style suits their stilted emotions as girl and boy trudge through hardships in their homes and their own twisted bond. Don’t judge this book by its seemingly lighthearted title or appealing cover; this story plumbs the dark depths of domestic violence." —Booklist

"This debut novel-in-verse is both beautiful and rough around the edges. Jaskulka handles her subject matter well, blending the poetry around the gritty details of the story. Each poet has his/her own distinct voice, making the transition between one and the other effortless. Both of these voices are real—real teenagers dealing with some major hardships. This is not an easy read; however, Jaskulka’s characters pepper their story with cynicism and wit. Readers will laugh, cry, and find themselves nodding their heads. Fans of Sonya Sones and Ellen Hopkins will want to get their hands on this novel."—VOYA

"An original love story, arresting and beautiful. Heartbreakingly honest. At moments frightening, but ultimately hopeful." —Laura Whitcomb, author of A Certain Slant of Light

"Eloquent, lyrical, combustible, Marie Jaskulka’s debut verse novel will draw you into the world of two teens whose thoughts and words resonate with raw beauty, love, and obsession. Jaskulka reminds us that, deep down, we know when love is real, and when we find it—we find our power." —Bridget Birdsall, author of Double Exposure

"This is one of those books I wish I could travel back in time to give to fifteen-year-old me. It’s a lyrical, raw, and honest account of love, losing yourself, and finding your voice, and with it, your inner strength." —Stephanie Kuehnert, author of I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone
ISBNs: 9781632204264 978-1-63220-426-4 Title: the lost marble notebook of forgotten girl random boy category:JUV ISBNs: 9781634500043 978-1-63450-004-3 Title: the lost marble notebook of forgotten girl random boy category:JUV 
Back to top